Childhood Memory Revisited

Because my cousin came here to Manila from Bicol, our family decided to treat her to an afternoon at MoA. What to do at MoA? haha! She wanted to try out ice skating, so my brother and I came with her inside the rink.  It was fun, although the price is higher than what I expected. X.x Well, considering the service (which was not bad at all), the whole experience was fun.

Not too many people know that I was into figure skating when I was younger. All I remember is that when the Sta Lucia Grand Mall opened many years ago, they had a really big skating rink, even bigger than Megamall’s. It was new and I wanted to try it out. The next thing I knew, my mom signed me up for formal skating lessons once a week.

I also remember that those lessons were held every Sunday, before the mall opens to the public (around 9, I think) and after our family went to mass, I’d change into my skating clothes inside the car. At first they were just shirts and jogging pants, but the wardrobe eventually included leotards, leggings, jackets, and skirts.

There was a specific summer when I had to go to Sta Lu almost everyday to practice (during this time I was already having one-on-one training sessions with Coach Evelyn)  and my constant companion was my ate who patiently waited for me but didn’t want to ice skate.

Surprisingly, I achieved quite a few things with the skating thing.. I was able to finish all the primary levels (alpha to gamma), participate in 2 inter-mall competitions, get medals, and join the mall’s Christmas on ice show.

I loved wearing my skates (back then it cost 5.5 k), wearing skirts even though it was cold, sipping hot chocolate that burned the tip of my tongue, warming up sa may rails, bunny hopping, 3-turning, sculling hockey-stopping and running around the rink. I remember one of the big coaches lifting me off the ice and twirling me until I got dizzy. Haha. Those were the days.

So why did I stop? Well, the studies had to come first (haha). But the ultimate reason was that the management decided to close the rink after (I think) it didn’t do well financially. They removed the rink and if you visit the mall now, all you’ll see is a tiled central area where they do concerts and all the promotional stuff they do in malls. Therefore, the skates became unused and right now I don’t know where they ended up. Hmm.. I think they’re at our old house and it’s too small and rusty already. However, I still have the gold costume I wore at my last compet (the one I’m wearing in the photo) right here in the closet. Hahaha

Nostalgic? Haha. Imagine my feeling when I was back next to the rink yesterday, wearing rented skates with my brother and cousin. I felt a bit excited going back, but I was also feeling scared because it had been such a long time since I’ve skated. What if I went back to zero and fell flat on my face?

Turns out my body still remembers how to balance! It was surprising. I felt as if I was back in my element as I skated as fast as I did years ago. Wow. Of course I couldn’t do all the moves I did back then, but I saw my younger self in those little girls practicing their choreography for their ice skating show. (*Grabe naka-IPod na sila! Nung panahon ko Walkman ang dala ko pag nagpapractice ng choreo! hahaha tanda ko na.)

Figure skating is for little girls. 😉

During our early dinner at Italianni’s after, I wondered out loud, what would have happened to me if I hadn’t quit skating? I missed quite a lot.. I quit before they sent representatives to join ice skating competitions abroad. What if I were supposed to be one of them? Haha.

My ate answered, “Eh di hindi ka na magdadancesport”

Haha.. Oo nga no..

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

