Take the Lead

Just watched Take The Lead last night with my parents (hehe. libre eh) and I must say I was really impressed with it.

It isn’t your typical dance movie; actually, the film reminded me of another “school drama/movie” Stand and Deliver, a movie about a real life math teacher who taught mostly Hispanic kids.

In this film, a Manhattan dance instructor (played by Antonio Banderas) named Pierre Dulaine taught detention students the fine art of ballroom dancing. This was quite a challenge, because these delinquent youth was used to hip hop and breakdancing. … Anyway, it’s better if you go see the movie so you know what I’m talking about. Haha. Or you can look at this for better reviews (I’m not really good at doing it. hehe)

Here’s some eye candy for you: (all pictures from the official web site)

Antonio Banderas.. really great. I’ve always liked the way he danced. 😀

Here he is teaching the basic skill of ballroom: walking. (Sounds funny but it’s true)

One of the detention/ballroom sessions.
.. and one of my favorite scenes! The fiery tango number with one of Pierre Dulaine’s uptown dance students. 🙂 I think I don’t have the guts to do that just yet. Haha.

I wanted to watch this film at first simply because it involved ballroom dancing (duh! UPDS kasi). But after watching it, I learned more than that. There is no such thing as an unreachable dream when you set your mind into it. 🙂

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

